Sharow Millennium Star by Mr John Irvin, Chairman

The village centres round the historic and the more recent. The historic part of the village was built circa 17th and 18th century and grew up around Sharow Hall and farm, the enclosed estates of Sharow Cross and Fairlawns (on the Dishforth Road) and Sharow Lane; modern times (in the last 3 decades) have seen four conclaves of houses being built: Church Close, Glebe Meadow, Orchard Close and Keldale Gardens – all dramatically increasing the overall size of Sharow village today.

The Village is to some extent dominated by St. John’s Church and the Church of England Primary School both situated in Berrygate Lane.

The Church looks after spiritual needs of the parish under the ministry of Revd. Canon Penny Driver assisted by the Wardens and the Parochial Church Council.

The School (under the Education Authority of North Yorkshire County Council) looks after the children and their primary education. The school is in the capable hands of the Head Teacher Miss Margaret Smith, assisted by two teachers and a Board of Governors. There were 74 pupils in September 1999. The children come from both Sharow and the surrounding villages.

The Parish Council
The general well being of the fabric of the village is looked after by the elected Parish Council under the Chairmanship of John Irvin, Vice Chairman John Bushell and Councillors R Triffitt, A Grundy, K Surman, G McDonald and R Colley. The Parish Council Clerk is Gail Green.

The Playing Field
The village is fortunate in having a sports field and Pavilion on Dishforth Road. It has facilities for cricket, football and other field sports. The sports field is ‘owned’ by the Church Commissioners, although the ground was originally ‘gifted’ by the Marquis of Ripon to the parishioners of Sharow (circa 1896) for the purpose of playing cricket. Since 1989 the Parish Council has grant aided the Sports and Social Club for the maintenance of the ground and would expect to have a say in its future usage.

The ground is managed by the Sports and Social Club together with the Parish Council and the Secretary Sue Dodds. The main users of the facilities are:

a) The Cricket Club (Secretary Edna Colley) fields two adult teams (A and B) together with a junior team. Coaching takes place on a regular basis starting at six year of age

. The Captain for 1999 has been Andrew Colley

b) The Caravan Club holds a limited number of rallies on the playing field each year.

c) The Pavilion is situated on the Sports Ground. It was built in 1996 and also houses the Village Hall, hosts dancing classes, whist from time to time, table tennis and other activities.
d) The Garden Club The village garden club meets on a monthly basis. The club has a strong membership in excess of thirty five. The Chairperson of the club is Joyce Latty and programme organiser Angie Grundy.